Here we go

So this is my first blog post, I’ve decided to do this to voice my feelings through the next part of the adoption process.

We are just starting stage 2, our brilliant social worker is coming this weekend and spending several hours with us on Friday, Saturday and Sunday.

I am so excited but also nervous, what will she ask us?

I will write a post later about our journey through stage 1.

Yesterday I was lucky to speak to someone else just embarking on this journey. It was great to be able to share with someone else going through the same thing. My husband and I are beginning to create an adoption support network of our own and it’s slowly growing. It’s great to have people to speak to that know what is going on and have similar frustrations and joys that we can share.

One thing I have found over the past few years is that whilst we are very keen to share pregnancy details with everyone infertility and adoption are hardly spoke about. Yet so many people go through similar experiences. I have always been very open, in fact probably too open about our experiences so far which has led to a few people confiding in me for advise and support. I think we should be more open, I know it would have helped me having people I could confide in earlier in the process.

So here’s to stage 2, and only 100 days to go until our adoption panel, fingers crossed everything goes to plan!

Leave a Reply

