A long day

Today our sw spent the whole day with us. She arrived at 10 and we got on with some more paperwork that needed doing. We then got on with the assessment, we started with how we met and went through our whole life together so far. This was then followed by a long discussion into our infertility treatment. We talked about the whole process in detail and how it made us feel, I expected this part to be difficult however, it wasn’t. I’ve been very open about what we’ve been through and how difficult I found this so think that helped me today. (Cheese alert) I’ve even said recently that we were always meant to adopt and had to go through this horrible part of our life to realise that.

Then this afternoon we talked about the types of children we felt able to adopt, this certainly gave us a bit more to think about. We know we would like siblings but we are very open to everything. It’s important for us to find the right child/ren so we seem very flexible. There were only a couple of things we feel unable to cope with and even saying this made me feel awful. Thankfully our social worker is fantastic, and reassured me that it’s ok to say this as it has to be right for the child.

We moved on to talking about our identities, personalities and health. Talking about our own identity is something we touched on at prep group, it’s not something T and I talk about very often and it’s funny to hear his opinions on different things.

When the sw left I realised how tired I actually felt after the day, still got to clean and do some school work! She’s back in the morning so I best get a move on, T’s gone food shopping.

 

Leave a comment